Knock It On its Ass

“You take a look at the explosion, and it knocks you down, and you wake up every morning, and you’re scared and you’re depressed and sad. And you’ve kind of got to let that knock you down and knock you down, and then pretty soon you’ve got to start knocking IT down. And then, when that happens, you start looking at the pieces left of your life.” – David Letterman

That quote comes from a Regis & Kelly interview with Letterman. Let me be clear, I’m not advocating anything, nor judging it. It’s not my place. Judgment is between he and God. But the quote really struck me as hitting the proverbial nail on the head in any of life’s defining moments. I’ve lived exactly what he’s talking about – again and again. From break ups, to the death of our parents, losses of job, death of a child, financial crashes, foreclosures…. whatever the crisis, life throws things at you that are going to kick your ass, and knock you down. And you know what? It’s ok to be down for awhile. The storm has to rage before it can wear itself out, and it isn’t your job to manipulate it into ending before it’s time. Ride it out, feel the feelings, cry, yell, scream, hide, wallow. Get angry, get sick, lose sleep if you must. But make no mistake, whatever you’re going through isn’t a free lifetime pass into sadville. At some point, who’s on the ground and who’s on their feet winning the fight becomes a choice.

Take a deep breath and get up. Do it in a way that’s best for you, find your strength and rise with dignity and courage. Fight. Knock the problem it on it’s ass and walk away. If it’s something worth treasuring, tuck the good in your heart and bury the bad. The bad will always be a reality, but winning this fight is about what you choose to emphasize. Grab the good and leave the rest behind. Get up and fight. Do it in a way that doesn’t hurt anyone else (I won’t advocate climbing back up by pushing another down, even if they deserve it), but get on your feet and knock that sucker onto the canvas for the final count. This is your battle to win, not to lose.

Are you sitting there saying “I can’t…” or “….yes, but …” or “easy for you to say…”? My replies:

Yes, you can. YES, you can.
But nothing. BUT NOTHING.
And no, it isn’t easy for me to say.

My life has had it’s share of defining moments. And in each and every one of them, I went through my time of being knocked down, my time of grief, my time of depression and anger. Sometimes all of these at once. But each of my defining moments (including the death of my son) had its turning point when I made a choice. A choice to let go of the dark and embrace the light; a choice to be happy instead of angry or sad; a choice to look at things for what they are, not what I wish they were (hence my favorite expression, “it is what it is”) and live it accordingly. The turning point comes when it comes, and there may be some moments of setback, but when its time, you’ll know. And in that moment, it’s your job to get up, stand up, and knock “it” on its ass.

One response to this post.

  1. Dedicated to my fellow angel moms. Knock it on it’s ass, ladies. I believe in you. ❤

    Reply

Leave a Reply

